You can definitely find some great info on your artist by doing a Google Search...but be smart! Lots of websites about famous folks are created by fans and may not be the most reliable with their facts. Look for things like "U2- the OFFICIAL page" and for web addresses that include only the person's or group's name. Things that end in .org or .com are probably more reliable than things that end in .net, etc.
Use the document below to collect your information for your citations.
|
GALE RESEARCH DATABASES To access to these resources from home, you will be prompted to enter a password. Passwords for all online resources can be found HERE. |
|
|
BiC provides information on thousands of people, ranging from sports stars and celebrities to historical figures. Use this database for school projects AND for your own personal interests. Everyone has a favorite baseball player, actor, musician, or other star! |
OViC is your best bet for research on controversial topics such as: |
|
SiC covers all science topics as well as most medical and health-related topics. Use this DB for Biology, Chem, Physics, or any of the specialty science classes. |
GREENR is a specialty Database, focusing on resources related to the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources. |
|
|
 |
| U.S. and World HiC cover every era of human history, from ancient times to the present. These Databases can be searched independently OR together, for a broader search. These tools can be used for courses BEYOND your history class--to research time periods related to the story you're reading in English, to learn about the food cultures of early America, etc. Browse both broad topics AND search for specific keyword strings. Think outside the box! |
|
|
|
Global Issues in Context provides resources related to current World Issues, from economics and politics to humanitarian crises and the environment. Very helpful for courses in the Social Studies and World Language Departments! |
|
|
|
TIPS FOR CREATING BIBLIOGRAPHIC CITATIONS and a WORKS CITED PAGE
Copyright Dates: Some books have been published multiple times. Therefore, they may have multiple copyright dates. When choosing which date to include in your citation, make sure you use the MOST RECENT date listed. This is the year the book you are using was published.
Publisher Information: When including the publisher’s name in a citation, just include the PROPER NAME of the company. This means you do NOT include words like Press, Company, Inc, etc. Publishers typically have offices all over the world. Sometimes they imprint their books with all of their locations. When determining the city of publication, use the FIRST CITY listed on the title page or verso.
Creating a WORKS CITED page:
- Organization: Citations must be organized alphabetically by the authors’ last names. Multiple works by the same author can be organized by the first word of the titles. If an entry does NOT have an author, alphabetize it by its first word.
- Spacing: The ENTIRE Works Cited page is double-spaced. Do not include additional spaces between the Works Cited heading and the first entry, or between individual entries.
Indentation: When a citation needs to run onto a second line, be sure to indent the second line 5 SPACES (one Tab). That way, it’s easy to scan down the page to see where each individual citation begins. If you select "Ruler" in the VIEW menu, you can easily drag the Hanging Indent arrow to the correct spacing.
Click HERE to see a sample paper and WORKS CITED page.
Use your school email and ID number to sign in with Microsoft 365
Noodletools is an online research project platform that helps you collect, organize, and cite your facts, figures, quotes, and information.
The OWL at Purdue University -- Use the links on the left side of the home page to navigate to what you're looking for. You can see examples of papers, Works Cited pages, in-text Citations, and more!
