Google Scholar searches the internet for scholarly articles only: dissertations, theses, and academic research. Many of the results you might find here are links to citations ONLY--but don't despair. Chances are that we can find the full-text for you. If you find something of interest and you CAN'T find the full article, email Mrs. Boehne-Miele: kboehne@cvschools.org and she will try to find what you need. Make sure you send her the link in the email!
A regular internet search CAN yield good scholarly information. Many authors (alive or passed) have an "official" webpage (most will actually state that in the description or title), and a LOT of historical authors are the sole focus of institutes or programs at colleges or universities. A great way to search for such sites is to do a domain-limited search in Google. Simply type the NAME of your author in the search box followed by this: site:edu
This will limit your search to ONLY sites coming from colleges or universities. A great way to start!
|
GALE RESEARCH DATABASES To access to these resources from home, you will be prompted to enter a password. Passwords for all online resources can be found HERE. |
|
|
BiC provides information on thousands of people, ranging from sports stars and celebrities to historical figures. Use this database for school projects AND for your own personal interests. Everyone has a favorite baseball player, actor, musician, or other star! |
OViC is your best bet for research on controversial topics such as: |
|
SiC covers all science topics as well as most medical and health-related topics. Use this DB for Biology, Chem, Physics, or any of the specialty science classes. |
Global Issues in Context provides resources related to current World Issues, from economics and politics to humanitarian crises and the environment. Very helpful for courses in the Social Studies and World Language Departments!
|
|
|
 |
| U.S. and World HiC cover every era of human history, from ancient times to the present. These Databases can be searched independently OR together, for a broader search. These tools can be used for courses BEYOND your history class--to research time periods related to the story you're reading in English, to learn about the food cultures of early America, etc. Browse both broad topics AND search for specific keyword strings. Think outside the box! |
|
|
|
H&W contains information related to medical, mental health, nutrition, and overall well-being.
|
|
|
|
POWER Library includes a number of additional online research databases, covering topics from Auto Repair and Education to Literature and Newspapers. If you're at CVHS, you can access the databases from the link above. If you're at home, you will be prompted to enter the number from the back of your Public LIbrary Card.
JSTOR is the best resource for Academic and Professional Journals and articles. If you are looking for a very NARROW topic, this may be the best choice for you. You will have to set up your own account within the program to collect articles.
Passwords for all online resources can be found HERE.
BEST ACCESS FOR JSTOR: Once you login via the form (using the password), choose SIGN UP WITH GOOGLE and proceed with your school Google information.
| Find: | ||||
|
|
|
|
|
| Advanced Search | ||||
Use your school email and ID number to sign in with Microsoft 365
Noodletools is an online research project platform that helps you collect, organize, and cite your facts, figures, quotes, and information.
Use the links below to find citation examples for the many different types of resources you may be using for this (or any!) Research Project:
The OWL at Purdue University -- Use the links on the left side of the home page to navigate to what you're looking for. You can see examples of papers, Works Cited pages, in-text Citations, and more!
