This is the "Home" page of the "Online Research Orientation" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Online Research Orientation  

This guide is designed to be used for 9th grade guidance class electronic resources orientation.
Last Updated: Oct 4, 2016 URL: http://cvschools.libguides.com/orientation Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Media Specialist

Profile Image
Kara Boehne
 

Destiny Catalog

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

Citations Galore

Use the links below to find citation examples for the many different types of resources you may be using for this (or any!) Research Project:

The OWL at Purdue University -- Use the links on the left side of the home page to navigate to what you're looking for.  You can see examples of papers, Works Cited pages, in-text Citations, and more!

  • EasyBib
    Easy Bib allows you to enter information about a source into a form. Then, the service magically creates your citation for you. It's handy, but beware--you still need to know the different types of info you are looking for!
  • RefMe
    Similar to EasyBib, RefMe will create citations in a number of formats. It's free, and you can set up an account to save your citations.

Google Tricks and Tips!

Check out these tips and tricks for using Google.  It's more than just a simple keyword search!

 

Boehne's Website Evaluation Information

 

Why Databases?

 

Research Databases

RESEARCH DATABASES
Use the Databases below to access reliable, scholarly information for many topics. 
Databases are NOT websites, we just ACCESS them through the Web.  They are cross-referenced collections of resources, including:
*Book sections * Articles from magazines and academic journals * Newspaper articles * Podcasts * TV and radio
* Special videos * Images * Interviews * Primary sources * Speeches * Criticism * Statistics * Topic overviews *

 

Biography in Context

Biography in Context provides information on thousands of people, ranging from sports stars and celebrities to historical figures.  Use this database for school projects AND for your own personal interests.  Everyone has a favorite baseball player, actor, musician, or other star!

 

History Databases

U.S. and World History in Context cover every era of human history, from ancient times to the present.  These Databases can be searched independently OR together, for a broader search.  These tools can be used for courses BEYOND your history class--to research time periods related to the story you're reading in English, to learn about the food cultures of early America, etc.  Browse both broad topics AND search for specific keyword strings.
  Think outside the box!

 

Literature and Controversial Topics Databases

Literature Resource Center provides access to information on Authors and their works, including Literary Criticism, Work Overviews, Biographies, and more.  Your best resource for anything Literature-related.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is your best bet for research on controversial topics such as:
* Abortion * Capital Punishment * Alternative Energy * Legal Marijuana * The Role of Government * Global Warming * School Prayer * Censorship * Violence in the Media * and much more.

 

Science Databases

Science in Context covers all science topics as well as most medical and health-related topics.  Use this DB for Biology, Chem, Physics, or any of the specialty science classes.

GREENR is a specialty Database, focusing on resources related to the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources.  It also inlcudes information on the Agricultural Sciences.

 

JSTOR Academic Research Database

Jstor

JSTOR is the best resource for Academic and Professional Journals and articles.  If you are looking for a very NARROW topic, this may be the best choice for you.  You will have to set up your own account within the program to collect articles.

 

POWER Library

Power Library Development Site - Pennsylvania's Electronic Library

POWER Library includes a number of additional online research databases, covering topics from Auto Repair and Education to Literature and Newspapers.  If you're at CVHS, you can access the databases from the link above.  If you're at home, you will be prompted to enter the number from the back of your Public LIbrary Card.

 

Pre-Orientation Survey

Take a few minutes to complete this survey regarding Online Research habits and tools.  It will help me understand your prior knowledge and usage history.

 

Research Quest

 

Website Evaluation

This video gives a fantastic, brief overview of what to look for in a relaible, reputable website for scholarly research.

Google

Google Scholar

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip