This is the "Cancer and Cardiovascular Disease Project" page of the "P.E. and Health" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

P.E. and Health  

Last Updated: Apr 8, 2016 URL: http://cvschools.libguides.com/pe Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Cancer and Cardiovascular Disease Project Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Gale Research Databases

GALE RESEARCH DATABASES
Use the Databases below to access reliable, scholarly information
for many topics and subjects. 
Databases are NOT websites, we just ACCESS them through the Web.  They are cross-referenced collections of resources, including:
*Book sections * Articles from magazines and academic journals * Newsaper articles * Podcasts * TV and radio broadcasts
* Special videos * Images * Interviews * Primary sources * Speeches * Criticism * Statistics * Raw data * Topic overviews *

If you need access to these resources from home, stop by the IMC to grab a Research Access Card.  Or, if you are already AT home, drop Ms. Boehne a line and she'll send you the information.

Biography in Context.gif

BiC provides information on thousands of people, ranging from sports stars and celebrities to historical figures.  Use this database for school projects AND for your own personal interests.  Everyone has a favorite baseball player, actor, musician, or other star!

Opposing Viewpoints in Context.gif

OViC is your best bet for research on controversial topics such as:
* Abortion * Capital Punishment * Alternative Energy * Legal Marijuana * The Role of Government * Global Warming * School Prayer * Censorship * Violence in the Media * and much more. 

Science in Context.gif

SiC covers all science topics as well as most medical and health-related topics.  Use this DB for Biology, Chem, Physics, or any of the specialty science classes.

GREENR.gif 

GREENR is a specialty Database, focusing on resources related to the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources. 
It also inlcudes information on the Agricultural Sciences.

U.S. History In Context.gif

U.S. and World HiC cover every era of human history, from ancient times to the present.  These Databases can be searched independently OR together, for a broader search.  These tools can be used for courses BEYOND your history class--to research time periods related to the story you're reading in English, to learn about the food cultures of early America, etc.  Browse both broad topics AND search for specific keyword strings.
  Think outside the box!




 

       

   

  

 

Citations Galore

Use the links below to find citation examples for the many different types of resources you may be using for this (or any!) Research Project:


The OWL at Purdue University -- Use the links on the left side of the home page to navigate to what you're looking for.  You can see examples of papers, Works Cited pages, in-text Citations, and more!

Additionally, Microsoft Word now includes a citation generator.  Select the "References" tab, make sure the "Style" tab is toggled to MLA, and click "Insert Citation," and "Add New Source."  Once the dialogue window opens, select the type of resource you need to cite, and fill in the information required.  Click OK, and your citation will be created.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip