HomeOnline Research Recommendations
10th Grade Biography Project
This is the "General Research" page of the "CVHS Research Portal" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CVHS Research Portal  

Last Updated: Oct 4, 2016 URL: http://cvschools.libguides.com/research Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

General Research Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Media Specialist

Profile Image
Kara Boehne
 

JSTOR Academic Research Database

Jstor

JSTOR is the best resource for Academic and Professional Journals and articles.  If you are looking for a very NARROW topic, this may be the best choice for you.  You will have to set up your own account within the program to collect articles.

 

Gale Research Databases

GALE RESEARCH DATABASES
Use the Databases below to access reliable, scholarly information
for many topics and subjects. 
Databases are NOT websites, we just ACCESS them through the Web.  They are cross-referenced collections of resources, including:
*Book sections * Articles from magazines and academic journals * Newspaper articles * Podcasts * TV and radio broadcasts
* Special videos * Images * Interviews * Primary sources * Speeches * Criticism * Statistics * Raw data * Topic overviews *

If you need access to these resources from home, stop by the IMC to grab a Research Access Card.  Or, if you are already AT home, drop Ms. Boehne a line and she'll send you the information.

Biography in Context.gif

BiC provides information on thousands of people, ranging from sports stars and celebrities to historical figures.  Use this database for school projects AND for your own personal interests.  Everyone has a favorite baseball player, actor, musician, or other star!

Opposing Viewpoints in Context.gif

OViC is your best bet for research on controversial topics such as:
* Abortion * Capital Punishment * Alternative Energy * Legal Marijuana * The Role of Government * Global Warming * School Prayer * Censorship * Violence in the Media * and much more. 

Science in Context.gif

SiC covers all science topics as well as most medical and health-related topics.  Use this DB for Biology, Chem, Physics, or any of the specialty science classes.

GREENR.gif 

GREENR is a specialty Database, focusing on resources related to the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources. 
It also inlcudes information on the Agricultural Sciences.

U.S. History In Context.gif

U.S. and World HiC cover every era of human history, from ancient times to the present.  These Databases can be searched independently OR together, for a broader search.  These tools can be used for courses BEYOND your history class--to research time periods related to the story you're reading in English, to learn about the food cultures of early America, etc.  Browse both broad topics AND search for specific keyword strings.
  Think outside the box!

Literature Resource Center .gif
LRC provides access to information on Authors and their works, including Literary Criticism, Work Overviews, Biographies, and more.  Your best resource for anything Literature-related.

Gale Virtual Reference Library.gif
The Reference Library is our collection of e-books for reference.  The books located here cover a wide variety of topics, including history, literature,art, health, and science.       

 

       

   

  

 

9th Grade Research Orientation

Click on the link below to access the Online Research Orientation Guide for 9th Grade Guidance classes.

Google

Google Scholar

 

POWER Library

Power Library Development Site - Pennsylvania's Electronic Library

POWER Library includes a number of additional online research databases, covering topics from Auto Repair and Education to Literature and Newspapers.  If you're at CVHS, you can access the databases from the link above.  If you're at home, you will be prompted to enter the number from the back of your Public LIbrary Card.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip