Try a Gale database!
If you are using these databases off-campus, see the PASSWORDS document for more information!
Try a Power Library database!
If you are using these databases off-campus, see the PASSWORDS document for more information!
|
Ida B. Wells by Mary Garrity [Public Domain], Theodore Roosevelt by Pach Bros. [Public domain], Mother Jones by Bertha Howell [Public domain] |
||
| Jane Addams - homelessness | John Muir - environment | Upton Sinclair - meatpacking |
| Eugene Debs - labor unions | Alice Paul - women's suffrage | William Howard Taft - president, supreme court justice |
| Susan B. Anthony - women's suffrage | Jacob Riis - poverty | Woodrow Wilson - president, Nobel Peace Prize |
| Elizabeth Cady Stanton - women's suffrage | W.E.B. DuBois - NAACP founder | Booker T. Washington - Black rights |
| Robert LaFollette - direct democracy | Theodore Roosevelt - corruption | Lewis Hine - child labor photography |
| Florence Kelley - social justice | John Dewey - education philosophy |
Charlotte Hawkins Brown - educator, activist |
| Mother Jones - unions/child labor | John D. Rockefeller - oil/arts | Ida B. Wells - Black lynchings |
| Andrew Carnegie - steel/libraries | Mark Twain - elected officials | Samuel Gompers (American Federation of Labor) |
| Lincoln Steffens - government corruption | Carrie Nation - temperance movement | Ida Tarbell - monopolies |
Alice Paul and the Fight for Women's Rights by
Perfect for Women's History Month, here is the story of the extraordinary Alice Paul, a leader in the long struggle for votes for women. Alice Paul made a significant impact on both the woman's suffrage movement--the long struggle for votes for women--to the "second wave," when women demanded full equality with men. After women won the vote in 1920, Paul wrote the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA), which would make all the laws that discriminated against women unconstitutional. Passage of the ERA became the rallying cry of a new movement of young women in the 1960s and '70s. Paul saw another chance to advance women's rights when the landmark Civil Rights Act of 1964 began moving through Congress. She set in motion the "sex amendment," which remains a crucial legal tool for helping women fight discrimination in the workplace. A true "girl power" book for today's young women, the title includes archival images, an author's note, a bibliography, and source notes.
American Decades Series by
American Decades documents and analyzes periods of contemporary American social history. Each volume begins with an overview and chronology covering the entire decade. Subject chapters follow, each including an explanatory background overview; subject-specific timeline; and alphabetically arranged entries discussing the people, events and ideas important to that subject during the period. Included are biographies; explanations of concepts; terms and events; quotations; charts; sidebars covering high-interest topics; and much more.
American Governance by
While high school and college students will find in American Governance clear and authoritative depictions of ideas that are core to the U.S. system of governance, their teachers will be able to use this resource as an extension of, or even as a substitute for, the textbooks supporting government and civics classes. Public library patrons as well as readers in institutional libraries (newsrooms, government libraries, etc.) will find answers in American Governance on all questions related to the variety of ways by which the American people govern themselves from their constitutions and governments to the political norms and ideals that guide their actions as citizens and leaders; to local communities, civic associations, and political associations people form for collective deliberation and action; and to the relationships they form with their elected representatives. Features and Benefits Approximately 700 original, peer-reviewed entries written by content specialists about America s complete system of governance. An authoritative source of scholarship on essential topics of American governance presented in a clear and compelling manner. Satisfies the national standards for civics and government. Includes approximately 300 images. Includes primary source documents."
Nellie Bly and Investigative Journalism for Kids by 
Susan B. Anthony by
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series, Susan B. Anthony, Teri Kanefield examines the life of America's famous suffragette. Anthony was born into a world in which men ruled women: A man could beat his wife, take her earnings, have her committed into an asylum based on his word, and take her children away from her. While the young nation was ablaze with the radical notion that people could govern themselves, "people" were understood to be white and male. Women were expected to stay out of public life and debates. As Anthony saw the situation, "Women's subsistence is in the hands of men, and most arbitrarily and unjustly does he exercise his consequent power." She began her public career as a radical abolitionist, and after the Civil War, she became an international figurehead of the women's suffrage movement. The book includes selections of Anthony's writing, endnotes, a bibliography, and an index.
Suffragette: the Battle for Equality by
A New York Times best-selling illustrator turns his talents to a lavish history of the women's suffrage movement in the U.K. and the U.S. just in time for the hundredth anniversary of the Nineteenth Amendment. Imprisonment, hunger strikes, suffrajitsu - the decades-long fight for women's right to vote was at times a ferocious one. Acclaimed artist David Roberts gives these important, socially transformative times their due in a colorfully illustrated history that includes many of the important faces of the movement in portraiture and scenes that both dignify and enliven. He has created a timely and thoroughly engaging resource in his first turn as nonfiction author-illustrator. Suffragette: The Battle for Equality follows the trajectory of the movement in the U.K. and visits some key figures and moments in the United States as it presents the stories of Millicent Garrett Fawcett, Emmeline Pankhurst, Ida B. Wells, Susan B. Anthony, and many more heroic women and men - making it a perfect gift for young readers of today. Dr. Crystal Feimster of Yale's Department of African American Studies contributes a foreword that speaks to the relationship and differences between the British and American suffrage efforts.
Lives of the Presidents by
Every U.S. president is the focus of public scrutiny, but how well do we know these men? What kind of fathers do presidents make? Husbands? Neighbors? Other books focus on the historical achievements of those who have occupied our country's highest office; Lives of the Presidents looks instead at their bad habits, silly nicknames, and strange pets. Every president--from George Washington to Barack Obama--is included, with an emphasis on those who have had the greatest impact on history. Discover their high points, low points, and the times in between. In this stunning addition to their acclaimed series, Kathleen Krull and Kathryn Hewitt take us beyond politics and photo opportunities, revealing the entertaining, complex, and very real lives of the presidents.
![Ida B. Wells by Mary Garrity [Public Domain]](https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Mary_Garrity_-_Ida_B._Wells-Barnett_-_Google_Art_Project_-_restoration_crop.jpg){kind=link}