LibGuides: CV9 Passion Project: Home

CV9 Passion Project

CV9 is on a mission to save the world, one community problem at a time!

For our Passion Project, students will utilize a design process to identify and research a problem in their community, and propose and present a solution to that problem. Over the course of three school terms, students will:

Empathize: Students will brainstorm and discuss their observations about problems they notice in our community (school or wider audience). Using our "Get Inspired!" page in this guide, students can peruse examples of how young adults all over the world have created substantial change after doing the same task. We EMPATHIZE by observing and identifying needs in our community.

Define: Students will define their problem and research all aspects of why it's important, how it affects people and/or other aspects of our community, and why it is a problem other people should pay attention to.

Ideate: Students will brainstorm and hypothesize potential solutions to the problem they've identified while researching the feasibility and effectiveness of each option.

Prototype: Students will create a presentation and display for a larger audience, outlineg their problem, theresearch, and possible solutions, with the goal of sharing their knowledge to persuade members of the community to join them in making a difference.

Test and Reflect: Students will (independently by choice) put their solution into practice. ALL students will reflect on their experiences with researching and proposing a solution to their problem.

Librarian

Kara Boehne

Email Me

Contact:

On Schoology: Mrs. Boehne

Google

Google Tricks and Tips!

Check out these tips and tricks for using Google. It's more than just a simple keyword search!

Google Tips

Welcome to the homepage for the CV9 Passion Project!

Follow the updates here for the latest Project news and information.

Use the "This Week" tab to check for assignments and reminders!

WEEK of JANUARY 3-6

Happy Monday, everyone!

We have been working through your "What You Need To Know" submissions, and we are seeing some great questions!

You have this week and next (January 23-February 3) to work on reading, extracting, and collecting your information. In class on Friday, Feb. 3, we will discuss this step and what's coming next.

We have uploaded some materials to the Passion Project folder in your Schoology course to assist you with your note-taking process, and we'll review this together next week.

Remember your goals for Feb. 3:

Read/View EIGHT sources
Create at least TWO notecards in NoodleTools for EACH SOURCE.

Gale Research Databases

GALE RESEARCH DATABASES
Use the Databases below to access reliable, scholarly information
for many topics and subjects.
Databases are NOT websites, we just ACCESS them through the Web. They are cross-referenced collections of resources, including:
*Book sections * Articles from magazines and academic journals * Newspaper articles * Podcasts * TV and radio broadcasts
* Special videos * Images * Interviews * Primary sources * Speeches * Criticism * Statistics * Raw data * Topic overviews *

To access to these resources from home, you will be prompted to enter a password. Passwords for all online resources can be found HERE.

BiC provides information on thousands of people, ranging from sports stars and celebrities to historical figures. Use this database for school projects AND for your own personal interests. Everyone has a favorite baseball player, actor, musician, or other star!

OViC is your best bet for research on controversial topics such as:
* Abortion * Capital Punishment * Alternative Energy * Legal Marijuana * The Role of Government * Global Warming * School Prayer * Censorship * Violence in the Media * and much more.

SiC covers all science topics as well as most medical and health-related topics. Use this DB for Biology, Chem, Physics, or any of the specialty science classes.

GREENR is a specialty Database, focusing on resources related to the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources.
It also inlcudes information on the Agricultural Sciences.

U.S. and World HiC cover every era of human history, from ancient times to the present. These Databases can be searched independently OR together, for a broader search. These tools can be used for courses BEYOND your history class--to research time periods related to the story you're reading in English, to learn about the food cultures of early America, etc. Browse both broad topics AND search for specific keyword strings.
Think outside the box!

LRC provides access to information on Authors and their works, including Literary Criticism, Work Overviews, Biographies, and more. Your best resource for anything Literature-related.

Global Issues in Context provides resources related to current World Issues, from economics and politics to humanitarian crises and the environment. Very helpful for courses in the Social Studies and World Language Departments!