LibGuides: Business: Supreme Court Cases

Brown v. Board of Education Websites

US Courts
Great overview of the Brown v. BOE case, including historical context beginning with the Plessy v. Ferguson case.
PBS - Brown v. BOE
Great interactive and cross-referenced brief on this case. Includes internal links to related articles and law topics.
National Park Service Site, Topeka, KS
Official webpage for the Brown v. BOE National Historic Site. Includes an in-depth overview of the case, as well as links to other resources.
National Archives Primary Sources
This site includes images of some of the actual documents from the Brown v. BOE case, including the actual judgment. Also includes outside links for additional information.
Library of Congress 50th Anniversary Exhibition
Page includes primary source documents from the case as well as a present-day analysis of the case and its ramifications.
Separate is Not Equal - Smithsonian Exhibition
Website for the 50th anniversary exhibition for the Brown v. BOE case. Includes documents, history, and additional cases and events related to the case.

Plessy v. Ferguson Websites

The Rise and Fall of Jim Crow - PBS
Includes a great overview of the case, as well as additional information regarding Jim Crow laws in general. Videos enhance the information.
The Rise and Fall of Jim Crow - VIDEO
Related video to the Rise and Fall of Jim Crow page.
Our Documents
Page includes primary sources from the Supreme Courts, as well as a good overview of the case.
Oyez - Plessy v. Ferguson
Overview of the case, detailed information about key players and decision.

Gale Research Databases

GALE RESEARCH DATABASES Use the Databases below to access reliable, scholarly information for many topics and subjects. Databases are NOT websites, we just ACCESS them through the Web. They are cross-referenced collections of resources, including: Book sections Articles from magazines and academic journals * Newsaper articles * Podcasts * TV and radio broadcasts * Special videos * Images * Interviews * Primary sources * Speeches * Criticism * Statistics * Raw data * Topic overviews * If you need access to these resources from home, stop by the IMC to grab a Research Access Card. Or, if you are already AT home, drop Ms. Boehne a line and she'll send you the information.
BiC provides information on thousands of people, ranging from sports stars and celebrities to historical figures. Use this database for school projects AND for your own personal interests. Everyone has a favorite baseball player, actor, musician, or other star!	OViC is your best bet for research on controversial topics such as: * Abortion * Capital Punishment * Alternative Energy * Legal Marijuana * The Role of Government * Global Warming * School Prayer * Censorship * Violence in the Media * and much more.


U.S. and World HiC cover every era of human history, from ancient times to the present. These Databases can be searched independently OR together, for a broader search. These tools can be used for courses BEYOND your history class--to research time periods related to the story you're reading in English, to learn about the food cultures of early America, etc. Browse both broad topics AND search for specific keyword strings. Think outside the box!

Oyez - Supreme Court Cases, Justices, and History

Oyez
Search Oyez by case or by Justice. Use the search box in the upper right to jump to your assigned case with ease.

Subject Guide

Kara Boehne

Email Me

Contact:

On Schoology: Mrs. Boehne

Google

Citations Galore

Use the links below to find citation examples for the many different types of resources you may be using for this (or any!) Research Project:

The OWL at Purdue University -- Use the links on the left side of the home page to navigate to what you're looking for. You can see examples of papers, Works Cited pages, in-text Citations, and more!

Miranda v. Arizona Websites

Oyez - IIT Chicago - Kent School of Law
Provides a concise overview of the decision, as well as primary source documents and recordings.
PBS - The Supreme Court
Provides an overview of the case, in an easy-to-understand format. Also provides links to associated cases and explanations of terms and legal jargon.