Skip to main content

Music: Home

Subject Guide

Google

Google Web Search

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Virtual Concerts!

NPR Music

Updated daily list of virtual concerts from a variety of artists: from opera and symphonic performances to mainstream radio stars.

NPR Tiny Desk Concerts

Tiny Desk Concerts from NPR's All Songs Considered features your favorite musicians performing at Bob Boilen's desk in the NPR Music office.  All genres!  Everyone from The Lumineers to Harry Styles to numerous world and jazz musicians have played here.  Check it out!

The Metropolitan Opera

The Metropolitan Opera (NYC) is streaming full performances nightly during the COVID closures.  

Gale Research Databases

GALE RESEARCH DATABASES
Use the Databases below to access reliable, scholarly information
for many topics and subjects. 
Databases are NOT websites, we just ACCESS them through the Web.  They are cross-referenced collections of resources, including:
*Book sections * Articles from magazines and academic journals * Newspaper articles * Podcasts * TV and radio broadcasts
* Special videos * Images * Interviews * Primary sources * Speeches * Criticism * Statistics * Raw data * Topic overviews * 

To access to these resources from home, you will be prompted to enter a password. Passwords for all online resources can be found HERE

Biography in Context.gif

BiC provides information on thousands of people, ranging from sports stars and celebrities to historical figures.  Use this database for school projects AND for your own personal interests.  Everyone has a favorite baseball player, actor, musician, or other star!

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context.gif

OViC is your best bet for research on controversial topics such as:
* Abortion * Capital Punishment * Alternative Energy * Legal Marijuana * The Role of Government * Global Warming * School Prayer * Censorship * Violence in the Media * and much more. 

Science in Context.gif

SiC covers all science topics as well as most medical and health-related topics.  Use this DB for Biology, Chem, Physics, or any of the specialty science classes.


GREENR.gif 

GREENR is a specialty Database, focusing on resources related to the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources. 
It also inlcudes information on the Agricultural Sciences.

U.S. History In Context.gif

U.S. and World HiC cover every era of human history, from ancient times to the present.  These Databases can be searched independently OR together, for a broader search.  These tools can be used for courses BEYOND your history class--to research time periods related to the story you're reading in English, to learn about the food cultures of early America, etc.  Browse both broad topics AND search for specific keyword strings.
  Think outside the box!

Literature Resource Center .gif
LRC provides access to information on Authors and their works, including Literary Criticism, Work Overviews, Biographies, and more.  Your best resource for anything Literature-related.

 

     Global Issues in Context provides resources related to current World Issues, from economics and politics to humanitarian crises and the environment.  Very helpful for courses in the Social Studies and World Language Departments!

       

   

  

 

Professional Performing Groups