Skip to Main Content

World Language: L’Afrique francophone - Biographies

Librarian

Profile Photo
Kara Boehne
Contact:
On Schoology: Mrs. Boehne
Website

Google

Google Web Search

Gale Research Databases

GALE RESEARCH DATABASES
Use the Databases below to access reliable, scholarly information
for many topics and subjects. 
Databases are NOT websites, we just ACCESS them through the Web.  They are cross-referenced collections of resources, including:
*Book sections * Articles from magazines and academic journals * Newspaper articles * Podcasts * TV and radio broadcasts
* Special videos * Images * Interviews * Primary sources * Speeches * Criticism * Statistics * Raw data * Topic overviews * 

To access to these resources from home, you will be prompted to enter a password. Passwords for all online resources can be found HERE. 

Gale POWER SEARCH enables you to search ALL available Gale products at once.  Click the icon, then check "Search All" to activate all resources.  Then search away!  Remember, if you're searching from home or your own device, you'll need to enter the password mentioned above.

Biography in Context.gif

BiC provides information on thousands of people, ranging from sports stars and celebrities to historical figures.  Use this database for school projects AND for your own personal interests.  Everyone has a favorite baseball player, actor, musician, or other star!

Literature Resource Center .gif
LRC provides access to information on Authors and their works, including Literary Criticism, Work Overviews, Biographies, and more.  Your best resource for anything Literature-related.

 

 

U.S. History In Context.gif
U.S. and World HiC cover every era of human history, from ancient times to the present.  These Databases can be searched independently OR together, for a broader search.  These tools can be used for courses BEYOND your history class--to research time periods related to the story you're reading in English, to learn about the food cultures of early America, etc.  Browse both broad topics AND search for specific keyword strings.
  Think outside the box!

 

  

 

Tips!

As you search for RELIABLE information on your person, consider a few questions:

  1. What's their profession?  This sometimes can help you decide on whether a source is reliable or not. 
    1. For instance, the homepage for the Chelsea Premier League Football Club would certainly be a reliable web source for a footballer on the team (yes, that's a hint). 
    2. Additionally, actors may have done interviews with trade magazines like Variety, Entertainment Weekly, and so on--"pop" culture resources like this are great for first-hand interviews (which, when researching a person, are about as reliable as you can get!).
  2. Are there conflicting spellings of their name?  Try searching variations if you have trouble finding things initially.
  3. Can you find the "official" website related to the person?  Many entertainers put forth official sites for their craft.
  4. Find these folks on social media!  Many (current) famous people have strong public presences on these platforms, and you can learn a lot about them through what they post.  Double-check, though, that you have found the "bona-fide" personality.
  5. Look for links that come from recognized news sources, like major global papers (The Guardian, Reuters, etc.) and French-specific news outlets.
  6. Use a GOOGLE LIMITER when searching.  Type your person's name into the search bar followed by site:edu  and hit enter.  You've instantly searched for your subject on ONLY sites by educational institutions like colleges and universities.  Also try site:org, which is my second favorite limiter!  These types of searches help to filter out sources that may be less than reliable.