LibGuides: Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Resources: Teaching Methods and Materials

About this Page: Teaching Methods and Materials

Teaching

Methods and Materials

This page includes teaching materials, including curricula, lesson plans, and lesson resources, intended to assist K-12 educators in building authentic and inclusive learning experiences for their students. If you have trouble locating any resource, or would like help finding or using information, do not hesitate to contact any CVSD librarian.

Learning for Justice Resources

All Classroom Resources
Film kits and lesson plans, texts, student tasks and teaching strategies, all centered around an anti-bias education framework.
Race and Ethnicity Resources
Resources for facilitating discussions about race and lessons on white privilege, economic inequality, mass incarceration, the complexities of identity and more.
Rights & Activism Resources
Resources for teaching and learning the role of rights and resistance in shaping our history, and to provide models of informed civic engagement.

Anti-Defamation League Resources

Lessons
A collection of K-12 classroom blended and online learning solutions for educators and students that promotes critical thinking and learning around historical and current events topics through the lens of diversity, bias and social justice.
Themed Resource Collections
Educational resources organized by themes and topics. Each collection includes lesson plans, teaching strategies, children's literature, blogs, family tools and other resources.

Library of Congress Resources

Library of Congress Lesson Plans
Teacher-created lessons that utilize the library's vast digital archives of primary sources.
Grab the Mic
Videos and writing prompts from National Ambassador of Literature for Young People, and popular children's and young adult author, Jason Reynolds.
An African-American Odyssey
Contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of formerly enslaved people. Also contains the Frederick Douglas Papers, the African-American Pamphlet Collection, the Slaves and the Courts collection, and the Jackie Robinson collection.

Teaching For Change Resources

DC Area Educators for Social Justice
A collection of lessons, videos, readings, books, and general teaching guides for students in early childhood through high school.
Teaching Central America
Lessons, book lists, biographies of noted historical figures, and readings for free use by classroom teachers to support teaching about Central America from Teaching for Change.
Challenge Islamaphobia
Resources and lessons to rethink Islamaphobia.
Civil Rights Teaching
Resources for teaching about the Civil Rights movement.
Zinn Education Project
This joint venture from Teaching for Change and Rethinking Schools introduces students to a more accurate, complex, and engaging understanding of history than is found in traditional textbooks and curricula.

PBS Learning Media

Confronting Anti-Black Racism
Use these materials to help students understand the long history of anti-Black racism in the United States, and think about ways to address it in their own families and communities.
Black Culture Connection
Resource and guide to all the films, stories and voices across public television centered around Black history and culture.
Confronting Bias: Ethics in the Classroom
The resources in this collection provide teachers with tools to incorporate ethics education in the classroom, promote understanding of differing viewpoints, and foster civil dialogue about bias.

Digital Resources from Museums and Libraries

National Museum of African-American History and Culture Digital Resources
A rich resource of graphics, images, articles, data, and more.
Digital Schomburg
Access to the Schomburg Center's digitized collection of materials for the purpose of research in the history and cultures of the peoples of Africa and the African Diaspora.
Boston Public Library Anti-Slavery Collection
A vast collection of primary sources, many available in digital format, including correspondence, newspapers, photographs, pamphlets, books, and realia.
Amistad Research Center Digital Collections
Topically organized multimedia digital collections relating to African-American history.
National Underground Freedom Center Resources
Lesson plans, activities, online exhibits, and more.
Jim Crow Museum
Website includes digitized resources regarding racist memorabilia along with curriculum guides and lesson plans.

Additional Resources

Black Lives Matter at School
Resources intended for Black Lives Matter at School Week (first week of February), but many lessons and activities can be used any time of year.
The 1619 Project Curriculum
Lessons and activities related to the New York Times' 1619 Project, marking the first year enslaved Africans arrived in what is now the United States.
Back-to-School Building Classroom Community Toolkit
Lessons about identity and community for the first days of school.
Unshuttered
Lesson plans combining photography and social justice
Primary Source Sets
Primary source sets with lessons relating to African-Americans from the Digital Public Library of America.
Black Freedom Struggle Sources from Proquest
Historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence and more from specific time periods in U.S. history marked by the opposition African Americans have faced on the road to freedom.
Global Oneness Project
Images, essays, films, and more resources, many with lesson plans included.

Actively Learn

Actively Learn
Subscription available through Schoology app for secondary educators at CV. Themed content includes social justice educational resources, and much more.