| RESEARCH DATABASES Use the Databases below to access reliable, scholarly information for many topics and subjects. Databases are NOT websites, we just ACCESS them through the Web. They are cross-referenced collections of resources, including: *Book sections * Articles from magazines and academic journals * Newsaper articles * Podcasts * TV and radio broadcasts * Special videos * Images * Interviews * Primary sources * Speeches * Criticism * Statistics * Raw data * Topic overviews * |
|
|
Use this resource to find information on specific people, such as Senator McCarthy, JFK, Fidel Castro, and others. |
OViC will be a great resource for a variety of the Cold War topics, especially anything dealing with espionage/spying and nuclear weaponry. A search for "Cold War" may yield a number of helpful references. |
|
|
 |
| Both of these resources will be helpful for this assignment. I suggest searching both of them together. Choose one, then toggle the box under the search bar that says "both." You'll get more search results, from a variety of sources, with a number of viewpoints. | |
|
GVRL is our collection of eBooks. There are several books in this resource that will include information on your Cold War Era topics. You can search the entire eBook library at one time! |
|
Use the links below to find citation examples for the many different types of resources you may be using for this (or any!) Research Project:
Research and Documentation Online -- Use the drop-down menu to easily jump to the different types of resources. They are separated into categories: Print, Online, etc. This site gives you both the "formula" for the citation as well as real examples.
The OWL at Purdue University -- Use the links on the left side of the home page to navigate to what you're looking for. You can see examples of papers, Works Cited pages, in-text Citations, and more!
The links below are amazing online resources on the Cold War era topics. Try them!
The Cold War Museum
(Primary sources, history, first-hand accounts)
CNN Cold War
(Companion to the 24-part series: timeline, history, key players, culture and technology parallels)
Learning Curve - Cold War
(From the British National Archives. Interactive, informative)
Cold War International History Project
(Wilson International Center for Scholars)
Cold War Policies
(University of San Diego)
PBS: Submarines, Secrets, and Spies
(Cold War submarine monitoring)
Submarines in the Cold War
(Nat'l Museum of Am. History; Includes good overall timeline of the Cold War)
PBS: Red Files
(KGB information, secrets, codes, etc.)
PBS: Hijacked!
(Covers the multiple 1970 hijackings by the Palestinian Liberation Front)
