LibGuides: English and Literature: Home

Subject Guide

Email Me

Contact:

On Schoology: Mrs. Boehne

POWER Library

POWER Library includes a number of additional online research databases, covering topics from Auto Repair and Education to Literature and Newspapers. If you're at CVHS, you can access the databases from the link above. If you're at home, you will be prompted to enter the number from the back of your Public Library Card.

JSTOR Academic Research Database

JSTOR is the best resource for Academic and Professional Journals and articles. If you are looking for a very NARROW topic, this may be the best choice for you. You will have to set up your own account within the program to collect articles.

Passwords for all online resources can be found HERE.

BEST ACCESS FOR JSTOR: Once you login via the form (using the password), choose SIGN UP WITH GOOGLE and proceed with your school Google information.

Gale Research Databases

GALE RESEARCH DATABASES
Use the Databases below to access reliable, scholarly information
for many topics and subjects.
Databases are NOT websites, we just ACCESS them through the Web. They are cross-referenced collections of resources, including:
*Book sections * Articles from magazines and academic journals * Newspaper articles * Podcasts * TV and radio broadcasts
* Special videos * Images * Interviews * Primary sources * Speeches * Criticism * Statistics * Raw data * Topic overviews *

To access to these resources from home, you will be prompted to enter a password. Passwords for all online resources can be found HERE.

BiC provides information on thousands of people, ranging from sports stars and celebrities to historical figures. Use this database for school projects AND for your own personal interests. Everyone has a favorite baseball player, actor, musician, or other star!

OViC is your best bet for research on controversial topics such as:
* Abortion * Capital Punishment * Alternative Energy * Legal Marijuana * The Role of Government * Global Warming * School Prayer * Censorship * Violence in the Media * and much more.

SiC covers all science topics as well as most medical and health-related topics. Use this DB for Biology, Chem, Physics, or any of the specialty science classes.

GREENR is a specialty Database, focusing on resources related to the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources.
It also inlcudes information on the Agricultural Sciences.

U.S. and World HiC cover every era of human history, from ancient times to the present. These Databases can be searched independently OR together, for a broader search. These tools can be used for courses BEYOND your history class--to research time periods related to the story you're reading in English, to learn about the food cultures of early America, etc. Browse both broad topics AND search for specific keyword strings.
Think outside the box!

LRC provides access to information on Authors and their works, including Literary Criticism, Work Overviews, Biographies, and more. Your best resource for anything Literature-related.

Global Issues in Context provides resources related to current World Issues, from economics and politics to humanitarian crises and the environment. Very helpful for courses in the Social Studies and World Language Departments!

Health and Wellness is a comprehensive database covering various topics related to the medical and mental health fields. Browse the topics pages OR search for what you need!

Google

Google Scholar

Noodletools

Use your school email and ID number to sign in with Microsoft 365

Noodletools is an online research project platform that helps you collect, organize, and cite your facts, figures, quotes, and information.

Find ebooks and audiobbooks!

Need help using MackinVIA? Watch the video tutorial!