LibGuides: English and Literature: CV9 Passion Project

Contact Mrs. Boehne-Miele

Kara Boehne

Email Me

Contact:

On Schoology: Mrs. Boehne

Khan Academy

Khan Academy - Home
Khan Academy is a great resource for almost any topic. Courses are available for a wide variety of subject matter.

RESEARCH REMINDERS

THIS TERM: Expert Level: UNLOCKED

During the 3rd Marking Period, we will FINALLY make the deep dive into our Passion Project topics.

Your mission, if you choose to accept it, is to become an EXPERT in your field. This will involve several tasks:

REFLECTING on what you already know about your topic, and determining what you need to DISCOVER.
Revisiting and READING your curated sources--and perhaps finding new ones.
ORGANIZING and DOCUMENTING your sources and your newly learned information.
EXTRACTING and GATHERING any and all information you deem important.
SYNTHESIZING your gathered information towards the goal of SHARING that info with an audience

Gale Research Databases

GALE RESEARCH DATABASES Use the Databases below to access reliable, scholarly information for many topics and subjects. Databases are NOT websites, we just ACCESS them through the Web. They are cross-referenced collections of resources, including: Book sections Articles from magazines and academic journals * Newspaper articles * Podcasts * TV and radio broadcasts * Special videos * Images * Interviews * Primary sources * Speeches * Criticism * Statistics * Raw data * Topic overviews * To access to these resources from home, you will be prompted to enter a password. Passwords for all online resources can be found HERE.
BiC provides information on thousands of people, ranging from sports stars and celebrities to historical figures. Use this database for school projects AND for your own personal interests. Everyone has a favorite baseball player, actor, musician, or other star!	OViC is your best bet for research on controversial topics such as: * Abortion * Capital Punishment * Alternative Energy * Legal Marijuana * The Role of Government * Global Warming * School Prayer * Censorship * Violence in the Media * and much more.
SiC covers all science topics as well as most medical and health-related topics. Use this DB for Biology, Chem, Physics, or any of the specialty science classes.	Global Issues in Context provides resources related to current World Issues, from economics and politics to humanitarian crises and the environment. Very helpful for courses in the Social Studies and World Language Departments!

U.S. and World HiC cover every era of human history, from ancient times to the present. These Databases can be searched independently OR together, for a broader search. These tools can be used for courses BEYOND your history class--to research time periods related to the story you're reading in English, to learn about the food cultures of early America, etc. Browse both broad topics AND search for specific keyword strings. Think outside the box!
LRC provides access to information on Authors and their works, including Literary Criticism, Work Overviews, Biographies, and more. Your best resource for anything Literature-related.

Google

Google Scholar

Noodletools

Use your school email and ID number to sign in with Microsoft 365

Noodletools is an online research project platform that helps you collect, organize, and cite your facts, figures, quotes, and information.

The OWL at Purdue University

The OWL at Purdue University -- Use the links on the left side of the home page to navigate to what you're looking for. You can see examples of papers, Works Cited pages, in-text Citations, and more!

English and Literature: CV9 Passion Project

CV( Passion Project